Home NEWS Government Gerringer, Anduri Selected As Lafayette’s Mayor And Vice Mayor For 2022

Gerringer, Anduri Selected As Lafayette’s Mayor And Vice Mayor For 2022

Photos: City of Lafayette

At the December 13, 2021 City Council meeting, the City Council unanimously voted for Teresa Gerringer to serve as Mayor and Carl Anduri to serve as Vice Mayor for the upcoming year. The City Council and others also thanked Councilmember Susan Candell for her leadership, round-the-clock commitment, and dedication as Mayor in 2021.

Outgoing Mayor Candell said she had the distinction of being the only Lafayette “Virtual Mayor,” since most meetings and events during her term were held online rather than in-person. Candell listed the City’s accomplishments in 2021 and thanked her fellow Councilmembers, Commissioners, City Manager and City Staff, community members and community groups who have helped to make Lafayette a better and safer city to live.

Mayor Gerringer said she was “honored, humbled and excited” to take on the role. “I’m looking forward to this year because I think there will be moments when we will be able to have fun and continue to work together in a way that addresses the difficulties and the challenges that we have coming.” Gerringer said she was eager “to continue to listen, to work together to solve our challenges, and celebrate our successes. I also look forward to working with my colleagues to move our shared priorities forward.”

Mayor Gerringer announced that the City Council will hold a goal setting session on January 10, 2022 to review the residents’ priorities, the status of work on the City’s existing goals, and take into account the bandwidth of staffing and budget capabilities to develop the priorities for the coming year.
Prior to being elected to the City Council in November of 2018, Teresa Gerringer served on the Lafayette School Board from 2000 to 2018 including serving as Board President for four times. As a Councilmember, she served as Vice Mayor in 2021.

Carl Anduri was first elected to the Lafayette City Council in November of 2002 and served on the City Council until 2012. In his first stint on the City Council, he served as mayor in 2005 and 2011. He was re-elected to the City Council in 2020.

Leave a Reply