Home Main Category Announcements Youth Ink 2016 Winners!

Youth Ink 2016 Winners!


Youth Ink is an annual creative writing contest open to all sixth-, seventh- and eighth-grade students who live or attend school in Orinda, organized by the Orinda Junior Women’s Club (Orinda Juniors).  The Youth Ink 2016 prompt was Future.  The judges’ panel comprised several local professional writers.


1st place – Julia Sato “Bridge: (Noun) [brij]”

2nd place – Cecily Bartsch “My Future”

3rd place – Deborah Jung “One Half of Us”

10 Honorable Mentions – listed by last name in alphabetical order

Nisha Andrews “Once Upon A Time”

Alison Gan “A Turing Test”

Tess Hornbeck “When Morning Comes”

Sophia Kofoed “Flying to the Stars and Back”

Amrita Pannu “A New Role Model”

Ilana Rubin “Life”

Natalie Sovocool “Et Respice Finem”

Lauren Staelin “For Alanna”

Tenley Thompson “A Life of Expression”

Eva Winter “Narnia”

The awards ceremony will be held on Thursday, April 21, from 6pm – 7pm in the Orinda Library Auditorium. All members of the public are warmly invited to attend. There will be light refreshments following the ceremony in the lobby.

The guest speaker is Maura Wolf, a writer who lives in Moraga.  She is author of three books, including her most recent, What Matters Most: Everyday Leadership at Home, at Work, and in the World. A presenter of hundreds of workshops and author of dozens of articles, her focus has been on authentic leadership, work/life balance, the practice of reflection and women’s leadership.